About WeB 2020

The Workshop on e-Business (WeB) is a premier annual one-day conference on e-Business and e-Commerce held in conjunction with International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS). The purpose of WeB is to provide an open forum for e-Business researchers and practitioners world-wide, to share topical research findings, explore novel ideas, discuss success stories and lessons learned, map out major challenges, and collectively chart future directions for e-Business.
The 19th Workshop on e-Business (WeB) is to be held virtually on December 12th, 2020. The theme of WeB 2020 is “The Role of e-Business During the Time of Grand Challenges". We are facing many global economic, health, and development challenges nowadays, and information technologies and e-Business applications play a vital role in designing and implementing innovative solutions to address those challenges. IT has transformed business operations, fostered new business models and markets, enabled experts around the world to collaborate virtually, and provided financial inclusion to millions of unbanked populations in developing countries. For instance, in 2020, when the COVID-19 pandemic has disrupted many aspects of lives, economies, and societies, digital technologies and e-Business models have been leveraged to mitigate damages caused by the pandemic.

WeB 2020 participants can enjoy four weeks of online access to the LIBIP at https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-030-79454-5.

Call for Papers

Organizing Committee

Honorary Chairs:

  • Andrew B. Whinston (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Hsinchun Chen (University of Arizona, USA)

Conference Co-Chairs:

  • Michael J. Shaw (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Bin Zhu (Oregon State University, USA)
  • Han Zhang (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Kenny Cheng (University of Florida, USA)
  • Ming Fan (University of Washington, USA)
  • Karl Lang (City of University of New York, USA)

Program Organizing Co-Chairs:

  • Kathuria Abhishek (Indian School of Business, India)
  • Aravinda Garimella (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Prasanna Karhade (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa)
  • Xiao Liu (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Jennifer Xu (Bentley University, USA)
  • Kexin Zhao (University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA)